Lena Pernas smiling

Today, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) announced the selection of 31 new Freeman Hrabowski Scholars, including MIMG faculty member Lena Pernas. 

This program, launched in 2022, supports outstanding early career faculty in science who have the potential to become leaders in their research fields and to create diverse and inclusive lab environments in which everyone can thrive.

“Each of our Freeman Hrabowski Scholars has demonstrated their unique potential to advance cutting-edge science and carve out pathways for the inclusive development of postdocs, students, and other researchers,” said HHMI Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer Leslie Vosshall. “We are thrilled to welcome this inaugural cohort to HHMI, and we are proud to support each Scholar’s contributions to the broader scientific community in the years to come.”

Freeman Hrabowski Scholars will be appointed to a five-year term, renewable for a second five-year term after a successful progress evaluation. Each Scholar will receive up to $8.6 million over 10 years, including full salary, benefits, a research budget, and scientific equipment. In addition, they will participate in professional development to advance their leadership and mentorship skills.